{Stuck}

I’m currently reading the book, “She Takes on the World” by Natalie MacNeil, and I hit a page in the first chapter that I can’t seem to make it past.  The book is supposed to be, “A guide to being your own boss, working happy, and living on purpose.” and I can’t make it through the first worksheet…

You know the one…

“What would you do daily if salary wasn’t an issue?”

“If no one would judge you, what would you do for a living?”

“If you knew you couldn’t fail, what would you try doing?”

(Paraphrased for a general idea, not direct book quotes)

You’re supposed to answer the entire page before moving on… and I can’t do it.

I think to myself, “Well of course I’d still train dogs.  But I’d like to knit more.  Or make more bracelets.  Ohhhh or draw!  Or write.  Garden?  Sleep?  Can I be a professional napper?”  And then she has the nerves to bring up our childhood dreams.  Because I’m sure my 37 year old body should be getting on the back of stunt horses, and winning gold metals for gymnastics.

I’m most likely sounding like a broken record over the past year or so… is this that mid life crisis thing?  Or am I just as broken as I feel some days?  I don’t ever want to be stuck with doing just one thing for the rest of my life.  There’s so much to do out there in the world.  And then I’m scared to death that I’ll be working my butt off until my very last day here on earth.  If only I could pick one thing…

Can I perhaps be a professional blogger who constantly blogs about trying to figure out where her niche is in this world?  No?  Maybe?  *checks bank account*  Nope.

Here’s hoping I can look back on this in the future and snicker about my childish ways.  Here’s praying I’ve made some headway by then.

In the meantime, may I borrow someone’s answers so I can finish this dang book?

~Emily

Leave a comment